FLVDirect.us craigslist scam

Posted by Darren | Posted in Life in General | Posted on 06-11-2010

70

I listed my motorcycle on craigslist and got a spam email with a link to FLVDirect.us.

From: jenevaxknxd@aol.com
To: Darren McCall

you still have offer?

From: Darren McCall
To: jenevaxknxd@aol.com

Yes, I still have the motorcycle. Do you live in Valdosta or close?

From: jenevaxknxd@aol.com
To: Darren McCall

Thank you for getting back with me

I’m very interested in this but before I buy it I need to know if its
the same one I’m looking for because I can’t afford another mistake
Please check out this video here I uploaded, which i am looking to buy

WATCH VIDEO

If its the same one I will be there today to buy it

Obviously some sort of spam or scam. I didn’t click the link, I just wrote back.

From: Darren McCall
To: jenevaxknxd@aol.com

Yes, it is the same one. What time would you like to come today?

The email address no longer existed.

From: Mail Delivery Subsystem

Delivery to the following recipient failed permanently:

jenevaxknxd@aol.com

Technical details of permanent failure:
Google tried to deliver your message, but it was rejected by the recipient domain.


The link takes you to a website with a video that says it is “7:53″ long. If you click the play button it says, “To watch this video please install FLVDirect”. At the top of the screen it says, “You need FLV DIRECT VIDEO VIEWER installed in order to download and watch this video. Please go here and install a free one now”. Someone told me they downloaded the software and installed it and the video on the website still doesn’t play.


Erin left a comment with this link that explains everything:
http://www.freelancer.com/projects/Marketing-Bulk-Marketing/Pay-per-sign-download-per.html

I need for an individual or individuals to provide at least 50 sign ups/downloads a day from flvdirect.com. Traffic must be from USA ONLY. Sign Ups are required to download and install FLV Player and you will be paid $1 each time a valid download is made.

I will pay $1 for each Real Qualified Conversion, and an extra $7.50 per 50 leads generated in a day,
So for every 50 downloads you get $7.50 on top of the $1 per download for each day.

In your bid, let me know how you plan to promote to achieve 50 downloads a day. I will then supply you a link with tracking code so we can track your progress.

This could be a on going project if you generate leads regularly.

Share

Comments (70)

I got one of these responses from my add too. What raised my guard right away was that the email was sent to me a 3am. Why would somebody be surfing for a stroller at 3 am, it could happen but not likely. I never hit “PLAY VIDEO” because I just don’t trust strangers but instead sent a response back with two listings from Amazon of two similar products. No Reply back… surprise, surprise.

Got one of these on CL today too. Gmail labeled the “play video” email as spam, but I wasn’t so sure because the two previous emails from this person weren’t.

Good thing I looked online first and found this post.

Thanks!

Same here. Thought it was super fishy. I’m on my phone so I wasn’t about to download anything on my driod.

I just got one of these as well from a CL posting. Thought it looked odd. Thanks for posting.

Just got one of the messages myself- just said I couldn’t open the link and for them to send me a regular pic. People’ll do anything for a buck.

Yeah. I got the same one too. A couple of things clued me to the scam, besides the obvious. One the pop-ub blocker thing at the top of the screen had a Windows warning shield on it and I’m using safari on a Mac. Also when scrolling the page header scrolls over that pop-up warning when it should be under. I emailed the loser back and called into question his programing skills. That I, a layman, saw such obvious things. What a loser.

Thanks for posting! I ALMOST downloaded it, but I decided to check it out on the web first. I got the exact same response you did when I said it was still for sale. Thanks so much for posting this! Saved me a lot of trouble I’m sure!

Thanks for the heads up. Same thing for me today from a “beckiehnell@aol.com”. Thankfully I’m at work and the download was blocked.

Thanks for the heads up. I got a reply to my craigs list add from a “beckiehnell@aol.com”. Good thing I’m at work and couldn’t downloand the video.

Thanks for the info, I got one of these in response to my craigslist ad.

Got the same email — word-for-word — this morning. How would watching this person’s video at all confirm that the sofa I took pictures of was the same one I was selling?

I hope no one opens anything that will cause a virus or spyware to infect their pc…

Yep same here, Im glad you guys all confirmed for me.The website was all sketchy looking anyways. Thanks!!

I am chiming in, I received an e-mail identical to yours. Thankfully I did a bit of research and you folks did too. Thanks.

really no need for me to confirm the same thing already said 61 times lol, but yea I f*ed up and didnt think it thru which usually im so good at spotting these things, but i was selling a cell phone, so it kinda made sense at the time a person mightve bought a cell before and it wasnt the exact one they wanted or whatever…by the time i noticed the 7:53 timeframe for video, and thought it through lol, I had already downloaded it and waited and nothing happened…Somebody please let me know if I need to delete anything or do something…I ran my Norton Internet Security Full Scan and nothing came up, and I checked to see if the program downloaded anywhere but it was nowere to be found…..??? thanks again

Try Malwarebytes Anti-Malware

[...] was sent to me via Craigslist, one would wind up on a page where a video would be. According to Computer Scientist Darren McCall: “If you click the play button it says, “To watch this video please install FLVDirect”. [...]

Yeppers – got one too. I always double check anything I’m not familiar with before downloading so I saw all the post targeting this as a scam.

Yes. I got one too and it is March 2011. Funny this thing is still going on. I am located on the Orange County CraigsList.

Same here, word for word. IT IS A SCAM !! DO NOT DOWNLOAD !!!

YEP! Got the same thing today (March 16, 2011!

First email from “her” was for another item I was selling and did NOT go to SPAM. Then got another email that DID go to SPAM and was for a different item I was selling.

I thought it was odd that someone wanted me to go look at someone else’s stuff first, plus the link looked odd. Had youtube in the URL, but the initial domain was something entirely different.

THANKFULLY I ran across this posting and several others!!!!

Write a comment